skip navigation
Fury FC Awards Gala

Fury FC players honoured at Annual Awards Gala

By Ottawa Fury FC, 11/09/17, 8:45PM EST


Fury FC Awards Gala

The Ottawa Fury FC Annual Awards Gala was held on Thursday evening in Otto’s Club at TD Place, commemorating the achievers of the 2017 season. This was the fourth edition of the Annual Awards Gala and it looked back at Fury FC’s first season in the USL.

The Ottawa side narrowly missed out on the playoffs, finishing in 10th place but the 2017 season saw the club and its players achieve a few memorable milestones along the way. This season saw the attendance at TD Place cross 100,000 for the first time in the history of the club. Mr. Fury FC – Carl Haworth – notched up 100 games for the club. It also saw former Fury FC and Canadian Men’s National Team turned Fury Assistant Coach Julian de Guzman take over the head coaching reigns. And just like in 2016 at TD Place, Fury FC handed MLS opposition defeat in the Canadian Championship. 

The club presented five awards: Community Award, Fans Player of the Year Award, Top Scorer of the Year Award, Newcomer of the Year Award and Player of the Year Award. OSEG Partner and Fury FC President John Pugh, OSEG Managing Partner and Executive Chairman, Roger Greenberg and Fury FC Head Coach Julian de Guzman shared their highlights of the season.

Community Award (presented by Allison Scarlett, Senior Manager, Brand Communications at Giant Tiger): This award is given to the player that best represented the club in our community throughout the season. 

Winner: #23 - Andrew MacRae

While goalkeeper MacRae was one of Callum Irving’s understudies, that didn’t stop him from being a central figure in the Ottawa community. MacRae was heavily involved with the club’s numerous school programs and the popular Fury FIT Program. He has been a constant source of guidance and inspiration for the young players who dream of playing for their hometown club.

Fans Player of the Year Award (presented by Stephane Brisson-Merrick from the Bytown Boys

Winner: #1 - Callum Irving

Irving set a club record playing every minute of every game this season. He played 36 matches and 3240 minutes in all. Irving produced many crucial saves over the season, ending up with eight clean sheets in all competition and was a clear fan favourite.

Top Scorer of the Year Award (presented by Paul Lynds from The Brick):This award is given to the player that recorded the most total points in the squad this season. Goals count for two points and assists count for one.

Winner: #8 - Steevan Dos Santos

Dos Santos scored 12 times in all competition, setting a club record for most goals in the regular season with 10. The Cape Verdeanalsoequalled Tom Heinemann’s 2015 club record for most goals in a season for Fury FC. His goal against Richmond Kickers from the half-way line was the longest goal scored in the club’s history. This goal also secured Fury FC’s first win in the USL.

Newcomer of the Year Award (presented by Kevin Booth from Chartwells): This award is given to the player that was new to the squad for 2017 having a significant impact in the club’s success.

Winner: #28 - Sergio Manesio and #1 - Callum Irving

This is the second time in four years that two players have been selected for this award. Sergio Manesio proved a reliable asset in Ottawa’s midfield – he brought both composure and grit to the position always 100% in on challenging for the ball. Irving was a constant presence for the team between the posts and he rewarded the team’s trust in him with 78 saves this season. Among the other new faces, these two stood out with their work ethic, perseverance and their attitude both on and off the field.

Player of the Year Award (presented by Talia Silvestri from TD Bank): This award is given to the player chosen as the most valuable player to the team as chosen by the club.

Winner: #22 - Jamar Dixon
Dixon produced a strong performance in 2017, featuring in 32 of the club’s 36 matches. This Fury FC midfielder set career highs for games played, minutes played and assists and also scored two clutch goals for the club. He provided stability to the Fury FC midfield on and off the field, he was a prominent figure in his hometown community.