skip navigation
USL conference alignment is bold text

USL reveals 2018 conference alignment; Fury FC’s rivalry with Indy Eleven renewed

By Ottawa Fury FC, 01/12/18, 11:00AM EST


The league will feature 33 teams across two conferences for the upcoming season.

USL conference alignment in bold type

The United Soccer League today announced its conference alignment for the 2018 USL regular season. The league will feature 33 teams across two conferences for the upcoming season, with an even greater group of regional rivalries featuring across both conferences in the new year as the league’s regular season expands to 34 games.

The conferences will be split geographically, with 15 teams in the Eastern Conference and 17 teams in the Western Conference. As in 2017, Ottawa Fury FC will be competing in the USL Eastern Conference alongside the likes of Toronto FC II, Tampa Bay Rowdies and Louisville City FC.

The Eastern Conference will welcome four new teams this season, with ATL UTD 2, Indy Eleven, Nashville SC and North Carolina FC joining the conference. The addition of Indy and Nashville adds to a strong pocket of clubs in the Midwest as they join FC Cincinnati and Louisville City FC, while NCFC and ATL UTD 2 complement the league’s existing clubs on the East Coast, with the Charleston Battery, Charlotte Independence and Richmond Kickers eagerly awaiting the chance to square off with their new rivals.

One team, Saint Louis FC, has moved to the Western Conference for the new season, where it will join expansion clubs Las Vegas Lights FC and Fresno FC in the battle for a place in the USL Cup Playoffs this season.

Map of where each USL team is located in North America

Eastern Conference Western Conference
1. ATL UTD 2 Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
2. Charleston Battery Fresno FC
3. Charlotte Independence LA Galaxy II
4. FC Cincinnati Las Vegas Lights FC
5. Indy Eleven OKC Energy FC
6. Louisville City FC Orange County SC
7. Nashville SC Phoenix Rising FC
8. New York Red Bulls II Portland Timbers 2
9. North Carolina FC Real Monarchs SLC
10. Ottawa Fury FC Reno 1868 FC
11. Penn FC Rio Grande Valley FC
12. Pittsburgh Riverhounds Sacramento Republic FC
13. Richmond Kickers Saint Louis FC
14. Tampa Bay Rowdies San Antonio FC
15. Toronto FC II Seattle Sounders FC 2
16. Swope Park Rangers
17. Tulsa Roughnecks FC

Orlando City B elected not to participate in the USL at the Division II level in 2018 while it evaluates its future options.

Ottawa Fury FC returns to the pitch on January 29 when training camp officially opens the fifth season for the club. Season Tickets for the 2018 USL season are available now at, by calling 613.232.6767 X1 or in person at The Box Office at TD Place.

  • From the Pitch – "Reggae Boyz"

  • By DEVON WILLIAMS, Louisville City FC 05/31/2018, 8:49am EDT
  • Two-time USL Cup champion explores the impact players from Jamaica have had on the league and the connection they share
  • Read More